Phi Theta Kappa inducts 21 members into organization

Twenty-one new members were inducted into the Chi Alpha chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Seward County Community College/ Area Technical School on Sept. 30. “We had a great turnout of new members,” said PTK President Alan Grajeda. “Each year we’ve been increasing the number of students we induct.” In order to join PTK students must have a GPA of 3.5 or higher, and must maintain their GPA above a 3.0 to stay in the organization. Transfer scholarship are available to members who qualify. The induction featured a ceremony conducted by the PTK officers, advisers and a speech by Dr. Duane Dunn. Cornelius Tablate was one of the new PTK that was inducted on Sept. 30. “It was a huge honor. I know a lot of friends who are in PTK,” Tablate said concerning his induction. Of the 21 new members inducted into PTK, 12 attended the induction ceremony: Michael Fisher, Laura Garcia, Yolanda Garcia, Jade Helmle, Robin Landureth, Alexis Lavielle, Ha Nguyen, Wanda Ray, Vanessa Saucedo, Cornelius Tablate, Vivian Warner and Alyce Williams. The other new inductees were not present but they were inducted. “It’s great that some of our new members are already getting involved,” Grajeda said. Some of the inductees attended PTK events before their induction ceremony. Those who would like to join PTK have an opportunity to do so in the spring semester. Letters will be sent out to those who meet the requirements and are candidates for induction.